In the aftermath of We Are Your Friends, we wouldn’t be surprised if EDM fans were a little wary of the next electronic festival movie. XOXO, however, is poised to be the film we actually deserve.

The synopsis of the film is as follows, “XOXO is an ensemble, coming-of-age movie about a group of early 20-somethings on a crazy adventure to the biggest EDM festival in America, XOXO. The film follows six strangers whose lives collide in one frenetic, dream-chasing, hopelessly romantic night. At the center is Ethan, a young DJ who gets a last minute slot to perform after his tracks go viral online days before the festival.”

Based on the trailer, there’s still a love subplot, albeit far less cheesy. But the main focus seems to be on the festival itself rather than all the drama surrounding it, which is good. Best of all, many of the shots are from festivals that we all know and actually love, like HARD Day of the Dead and Insomniac’s Beyond Wonderland. In fact, if you were front row at Alesso’s set at Beyond earlier this year, you’re sure to recognize the man in the yellow shirt at the end of the trailer.

The film stars Sarah Hyland (Modern Family), Graham Phillips (The Good Wife), Brett DelBuono, Chris D’Elia (Undateable), Haley Kiyoko (Jem & The Holograms), Colin Woodell (Masters of Sex), Ryan Hansen (Party Down, 2 Broke Girls), Ian Anthony Dale (Hawaii Five-0) and Ione Skye (Say Anything). Pete Tong served as musical advisor for the film.

XOXO will launch globally on Netflix on August 26, 2016.

As an early treat, check out the first track off the official 16-track XOXO Soundtrack a new song from Grammy nominated electronic duo Galantis and East & Young called “Make Me Feel.”

This track is available for download tomorrow alongside the pre-order for the soundtrack arriving globally via Big BeatRecords alongside the film release on August 26th.

Credit: Youredm

Post Author: edmthrones

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.